6 Outdoor Recreation Twitter Chats for National Park Fans and Outdoor Explorers

by | Oct 10, 2017 | National Parks and Public Lands, Social Media Tips

Twitter chats are an excellent way to network with like-minded people. I’ve been participating in various Twitter chats for a couple of years and have really enjoyed the connections they have brought into my life. If you have never participated in a Twitter chat, you can learn all about them in a how-to post I wrote a few weeks back. When you are ready to join a chat, I encourage you to check out one of the following outdoor recreation Twitter chats.

Chat 1: #ParkChat 

Anyone who loves or wants to learn more about experiencing our national parks and public lands is welcome to join Park Chat each Wednesday. Besides the weekly chat, I have formed some great friendships with the participants and enjoy ongoing events like the above #FindYourPark photo challenge. 

Hosts: @59NationalParks and @Wild_Tribute 
When: Wednesday’s 9 pm ET (8 pm CT, 7 pm MT, and 6 pm PT)
Chat URLhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/parkchat

Chat 2: #GearMeOut

Anyone who loves or wants to learn more about outdoor recreation and survival gear is welcome to join #GearMeOut each Monday. Host UST even does gear giveaways periodically in combination with the chat. (Full disclosure, I’ve won one of the giveaways.)

Hosts: @UST_Survival and various co-hosts
When: Monday’s at 8 pm ET (5 pm PT, 6 pm MT, and 7 pm CT)
Chat URLhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/gearmeout

Chat 3: #HikerChat

Focusing on hiking locations, gear, and experiences, #HikerChat is held every Friday. All are welcome to join. 

Hosts: @TetonSports and various co-hosts
When: Friday’s at 12 pm ET (9 pm PT, 10 pm MT, and 11 pm CT)
Chat URLhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/hikerchat

Chat 4: #CampChat

Focusing on popular and timely topics in the outdoor recreation industry, #CampChat is held on Tuesday’s. All are welcome to join.        

Host: @CampStake
When: Tuesday’s at 9 pm ET (8 pm CT, 7 pm MT, and 6 pm PT)
Chat URLhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/campchat

Chat 5: #OMNItalk 

Focusing on popular and timely topics in the outdoor recreation industry, #OMNItalk is held on the 3rd Thrusday of each month. All are welcome to join. 

Hosts: @Columbia1938
When: 3rd Thursday of the month at 12:30 pm ET (9:30 am PT, 10:30 am MT, and 11:30 am CT)
Chat URLhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/OMNItalk

Chat 6: #KidsNParksChat 

Anyone interested in sharing adventures in local, state, and national parks are welcome to join #KidsNParksChat is held each Thursday. 

Hosts: @FullVanFun
When: Thursday’s at 8 pm ET (5 pm PT, 6 pm MT, and 7 pm CT)
Chat URLhttps://twitter.com/hashtag/kidsnparkschat

_____

What are your favorite Twitter chats?

Did I miss one of your favorite Twitter chats? If so, leave it in the comments below or share it with me on social media.

By Sara Beth

Sara Beth is a wanderlust soul who is focused on simplistic and mindful living. She is passionate about National Parks, road trips, and board games. Her early years were spent in the Driftless Area of Wisconsin. After graduating from university, she moved to Las Vegas, fell in love, and adopted a dog. Today, she lives with her husband and their dog in the suburbs of Washington, DC.

Related Blog Posts

#FindYourPark Photo Challenge for National Park Week 2018

#FindYourPark Photo Challenge for National Park Week 2018

In honor of the National Park Week 2018, my friends over at the Nature Tech Family blog decided to host another #FindYourPark photo challenge. This time around, the photo challenge showcased various aspects of our public lands that we all can enjoy. These photo...

read more
10 National Park Hidden Gems

10 National Park Hidden Gems

I recently wrote a guest post for Wild Tribute about five little known national park hidden gems. With over 400 units, the National Park Service is home to a variety of cultural, natural, and historical gems. However, there are many national park hidden gems that the...

read more

3 Comments

  1. Avatar

    I’d have to say my I love the first five of these the most… plus Canadian Hiker Chat, which is held on some Sundays. #CDNHikeChat

    Reply
    • Sara Beth

      Hey Mike! I love these chats, because it’s where I meet awesome folks like you! I wish I could fit them all into my schedule every week. I was going to including Canadian Hike Chat, but was wasn’t sure how long it would be around as it launched to celebrate Canada 150. :)

      Reply
  2. Avatar

    Hi Sara! Great post – you have listed some great chats. I thought you might be interested to know about #WeGetOutside chat. I host this chat weekly on Tuesdays at 7:30 pm EST. It’s Canada’s leading chat for outdoor enthusiasts! We cover a wide variety of topics and welcome outdoors enthusiasts of all levels and all disciplines. While I’m Canadian, and many of our chatters are Canadian, our chat is open to everyone. We have a few regular US chatters who join us ever week. Would love for you to join us one week!

    Reply

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.